Cheeeesy Corn Muffins!

mmmmmmm, cheesy and corn muffin-y. I adapted a recipe from my bff Hungry Girl, nixing the scallions and Splenda (bleh) and whole wheat-ing the flour, as well as changing the cheese (simply cause I didn’t have the stuff she called for at my house) and swapping Fage for sour cream. The results? Yum!

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup canned cream-style corn
2/3 cup white whole wheat flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
1/2 cup fat-free liquid egg whites (I used Trader Joe’s cage-free)
1/2 cup Fage total 0%
3 slices fat-free American cheese (1/2 cup shredded cheese works too!)
1 tbsp Agave nectar
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat oven to 350. Mix dry ingredients in one bowl, the dry in another, and divvy up the mixture into 12 lined muffin tins. Cook for about 20 minutes, the tops should be lightly browned (the cheese might make them look prematurely burnt…but trust me, they don’t taste nearly as good undercooked!).

I am a cornbread FIEND, and these are up to par with my tastebuds! Super good with Trader Joe’s cranberry-apple butter, too! Personally, my favorite part is the seasonally-appropriate liners, though ;).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

