Apple Pie Pockets

Hey everyone, welcome to my first post! šŸ˜€ I know a bit about blogging already (being a nerd in the Internet Technology shop in my HS) and am growing tired of being a weird foodie blog lurker, so I decided to give this blogging thing a whirl!

My first recipe is family tested and approved, being a large hit at Thanksgiving (and always devoured within seconds by my little cousin Molly! :P), and they’re a pretty tough crowd. They present beautifully and smell absolutely amazing. Molly and I whipped up a batch yesterday and decided to finally give them a name: Apple Pie Pockets.

Without further adieu:

INGREDIENTS:
1 large Fuji apple, chopped into small pieces
About 16 wonton wrappers (I use Nasoya)
1/3 cup Unsweetened Original Almond Milk*
About 1-2 tbsp lite maple syrup**
Cooking spray

*I prefer Almond Milk because I think it gives the pockets a little bit of a nutty flavor, but skim milk is obviously fine if that’s what you have on hand
**This is totally about your taste preference, and regular grade B maple syrup is fine if you’re all about organics

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 300 (Note: I use a toaster oven for all my baking so my cooking time may vary slightly from yours – just keep an eye on the little guys!)
2. Peel the Fuji and chop it into tiny pieces (if you’re questioning how tiny, just look at how small a wonton wrapper is!)
3. Transfer the pieces (there will be a looot!) and the milk to a small bowl
4. Pour the almond milk and ~1/2 tbsp of the syrup into the bowl, stir to combine
5. Microwave for 2 minutes (this will absorb some of the sweetened milk into the apples, hence the “apple pie!”)
6. Lay out a wonton wrapper on a paper plate diamond style and spoon a tiny spoonful of apple + a little milk mixture into the center; fold it in half corner to corner
7. Use the excess milk mixture to press down the edges (this will get messy, don’t sweat it)
(Note: Before the next step, I usually transfer the pockets to a paper towl to dry them out a bit first!)
8. Line a baking sheet with foil, spray generously with cooking spray (they get pretty sticky!)
9. Line up the pockets in a single layer on the sheet, spray the tops with a little bit more cooking spray and pop in the oven for about 12 minutes.
10. When the edges get nice and brown, remove and transfer to a plate
11. Drizzle with remaining syrup, and enjoy!

These things are seriously fantastic! They look super-decadent and present beautifully, so they’re fun to bring out as a party tray, but easy and healthy enough that you can make them as a snack any day! No one will be able to tell they aren’t fried ;).
PS: They can easily be adapted to Pumpkin Pie Pockets, Chocolate Cream Pie Pockets, Cherry Pie Pockets, etc etc…I’ll post more of my Pocket endeavors at a later date :).
Let me know if y’all try any, and thanks for checking out the blog!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

